top of page


“kamalAmbikAyAstava bhaktO(a)haM” is the Dikshithar krithi on the 6th Avaranam – Antardasara; this is set to ragam Punnagavarali and is in the Shashti vibhakthi (genitive - ration of source/possession). The Avarana is Antardasara; the Chakra is Sarvarakshakara chakra (protects all). The gem is emerald. The time is Lunar Fortnight. The Shakthis are the ten starting with Sarvagnya (*please see below for details). This avarana corresponds to the middle of the eyebrows (bhrukuti) of the mother goddess. The Yogini is Nigarbha Yogini; the Mudra is Sarva mahankusha; and the Siddhi is Prakamya. The mental state is Upadesa. The presiding deity is Tripura Malini. Her vidya is is Hrim Klim Blem. This is described by Dikshithar as:

“daSa kalAtmaka vahni svarUpa -

prakASAntardaSAra sarva rakshA-kara cakrESvaryAH

tri-daSAdi nuta ka-ca-varga-dvaya-maya sarvajnAdi -

daSa Sakti samEta mAlinI cakrESvaryAH

tri-daSa viMSadvarNa garbhiNI kuNDalinyAH

daSa mudrA samArAdhita kauLinyAH

daSa rathAdi nuta guru guha janaka Siva bOdhinyAH

daSa karaNa vRtti marIci nigarbha yOginyAH SrI”

The meaning:

“She is the goddess of the Chakra Sarvarakshakara, protecting all. Her essential nature is the fire. She is established in the ten Kalas and manifests in the inner circle having ten triangles. She is the goddess of the circle of Malini, which has ten Shaktis such as Sarvajna etc. She is of the form of the ten letters of the Ka and Ca groups and is worshiped by gods and others. She is Kundalini, encompassing the fifty letters. She is the goddess Kaulini, propitiated by ten Mudras. She is worshiped by Dasharatha and others, and bestows knowledge on Shiva, the father of Guruguha. The rays of Her inner radiance constitute the functioning of the ten Indriyas, the ten sense and motor organs”. The ten- sided figure (antar dasara) called Sarva raksha karaka (one that protects all) consisting ten triangles is the sixth avarana. The ten triangles represent the powers of the mother goddess who presides over ten vital fires (vanyaha). These represent the ten specific fires within the body; they being the fire of : purgation (Rechak); digestion (Pachak);absorption (Shoshak); burning (Dahak);the secretion of enzymes (Plavak); acidification (Ksharak); to take out or excrete (Uddharak); the fires of pessimism and frustration (Kshobhak);the fire of assimilation (Jrambhak); and, fire of creating luster (Mohak).

The significance of this avarana is explained as protection from all obstacles. The devotee distances himself from all that hinders his spiritual progress; and he begins to develop the awareness he is Siva (the consciousness). Dikshitar describes the antar dasara chakra as endowed with ten aspects and glowing like fire(Dasha-kala-atmaka Vahni SvaroopaPrakAsha-antar-dashAra) . These ten vital fires correspond to the ten divinities named as Sarvajna, sarva shakthi prada, Sarvaishvarya prada and so on. These along with the presiding deity Tripura Malini, reside in the ten-cornered-figure antar dasara (SarvajhnAdi Dasha-shakti-sameta Malini Chakra-eshvaryAh). Tripura Malini is the goddess of the Chakra Sarvarakshakara. The Charanam concludes with salutations to the Yogini of the chakra, the ten aspects of Nigarbha Yogini, shining brightly like the rays of light (Dashakarana Vrutti Mareechi Nigarbha YoginyAh Shree).

The raga –mudra is carefully incorporated as “ramaNIya ‘punnAga varALi’ vijita vENyAH SrI”, which also means “the one whose braid defeats (the beauty and blackness of) the distinguished bees of the pleasing Punnaga flowers (‘punnAga’ is the Alexandrian Laurel tree , known as Punnai in Tamil). This song is set in ShaShThI vibhakti, the possessive or genitive case. The basic sentence unit (anvaya) is ahaM kamalAmbikAyAH bhaktaH (I am the devotee of Goddess Kamalambika), and all adjectives ending in ``yAH'' are qualifications of the noun KamalAMbikAyAH. The chakra for this AvaraNa, sarvarakShAkara chakra, consists of the inner set of ten triangles (known as antardashAra). MAlinI chakra is a diagram where the Sanskrit alphabet is arranged in a concentric pattern in these ten triangles. The ten shaktis referred to here are: sarvaj~nA, sarvashaktipradA, sarvaishvaryapradAyinI, sarvaj~nAnamayI, sarvavyAdhivinAshinI, sarvAdhArasvarUpA, sarvapApaharA, sarvAnandamayI, sarvarakShAsvarUpiNI and sarvepsitaphalapradA. These shaktis are called the nigarbha yoginis. The ten mudrAs are: sarvasaMkShobhiNI, sarvavidrAviNI, sarvAkarShiNI, sarvaveshAkarI, sarvAnmodinI, mahA~NkushA, khecarI, bIja, yoni and trikhaNDa.

Here is an excellent rendition of the composition by Dr.Bhavani Prakash,; begins with a sloka on the Goddess.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page