top of page


Like the janaka ragam NAganandini (NAgabharanam in Dikshithar system), Gambhiravani also is one of the rarest ragas. This raga is still alive only because of the Thyagaraja krithi. The notes can be seen as:

S G3 P M1 D3 N3 S // S N3 P M1 G3 R2 G3 R2 S

Ragapravaham gives a slightly different specification as:

S G3 P M1 P D3 N3 S // S D3 P M1 G3 R2 G3 R2 S;

While SSP does not mention about this raga.

Another different specification found replaces the G3 in arohanam and N3 in avarohanam by R2 and D3 respectively:

S R2 M1 P D3 N3 S // S D3 P M1 G3 R2 G3 R2 S

This raga seems to have been introduced by Saint Thyagaraja for the first time. Till very recent times, no other composition was available in this raga. The raga has enough scope for expansion; also it is a pleasing raga. There is only one composition of Thyagaraja, “sadamatin dalatu”, in which the Saint praises of Lord Siva. Thyagaraja had used the swarakshara 'sa' in the commencement of pallavi. In this kriti the sancharas extends from madhyasthayi shadja to tarasthayi panchama. None of the other trinities nor any of his contemporaries composed in this raga, for unknown reasons.


Sadamatin dalatu – Thyagaraja

Ambasutha Ganapathe – K.Ramaraj

Nadhrudhim tanana (tillana) – T.K.govinda Rao

In the krithi, 'Sadamatin', Thyagaraja praises Lord Siva as:

“Am I not always contemplating on you alone in my mind? O source of happiness! Spouse of Parvati, the daughter of Himavan, the mountain king! O Sadashiva! Embodiment of bliss! O full of compassion! One whose heart is happy! Your lotus feet, am I not always praying? O Digambara! You are the destroyer of the demon Antaka. You are praised by the Lords of directions-Digishas. You are adorned with Ganga and crescent on your head. O Cosmic dancer! This is the right moment to protect me”.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


(Please check the name of the Raga and search using the search button) Amrita behag Bhoga vasantha Budha manohari Chayanattai Chinthamani Chittharanjani Deepakam Deshakshi Devamruthavarshini Devaranji


bottom of page